View in browser
Follow Sen. Argall on Twitter for Senate happenings –
In this Email Update:
Claiming your property
The Treasury reports it began 2016 seeking the legal owners of $2.5 billion in unclaimed property. Claimants are encouraged to file a claim form, free of charge, with the Bureau of Unclaimed Property rather than pay the 15% maximum finder’s fee.
One in 10 residents have unclaimed property. The increased popularity of gift certificates and gift cards can also bring an increase in unclaimed property, as Pennsylvania requires those with an expiration date and/or any fees to be reported as unclaimed property. Search the Treasury’s Unclaimed Property data base or call the toll-free number, 800-222-2046, for information and assistance.
Preventing home burglaries
Summer vacations and weekend excursions may leave your home vulnerable to burglars, according to the Pennsylvania State Police.
The greatest number of burglaries occur in July, amplified by increased daylight and poorly secured doors and windows. The PSP report burglars break into a house, apartment or condominium every 11 minutes.
Take steps to protect your family and property from burglary:
Financial planning information for kids
Publications and reports can assist parents when conveying to kids the importance of financial issues, according to the PA Department of Banking.
The Pennsylvania Treasury is making one such publication available entitled “Money As You Grow: 20 Things Kids Need to Know to Live Financially Smart Lives”. Beginning with 3 to 5 year olds and continuing in stages up to 18 years and older, the “Money As You Grow” teaching tool is intended to introduce financial concepts at the appropriate age for comprehension.
The PA Department of Banking offers three publications for students and young adults, including 12 Investing Principles That Every Young Person Should Know, 40 Money Management Tips Every College Student Should Know, and Money: Save It, Invest It, Do It As A Career. Parents are also invited to take advantage of the PA DOB publications geared toward adults.
New child car seat requirement in Pennsylvania
In mid-August, Pennsylvania will begin requiring children under 2 years of age to be transported in rear-facing child seats to increase the protection of an infant’s head, neck and spine, according to the Pennsylvania State Police.
Act 43 of 2016, signed into law June 13, 2016, (SB 1152 of 2015) establishes a primary offense, permitting an officer to stop an offending driver. The violator will pay a fine up to $100 plus court costs, $30 for the CAT Fund, $10 for the Emergency Medical Services Fund and a $10 fee for administrative costs. Violators will receive only a verbal warning during the introductory one-year grace period. The fines will be dismissed at the hearing for those presenting evidence of acquisition of an appropriate child seat.
Current law requires an approved car seat for children under 4 years of age. Pennsylvania joins California, New Jersey and Oklahoma in requiring rear-facing child seats, in line with recommendations from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.
Deadline extended for Property Tax and Rent Rebate Program
Pennsylvania is extending from June 30, 2016 until December 31, 2016 the Property Tax and Rent Rebate Program deadline for eligible Pennsylvanians and issuing a reminder that free application assistance is available through local Area Agencies on Aging, Senior Centers and PA Department of Revenue district offices.
Age, income and disability are critical eligibility factors. First time filers will need photocopies of documents providing proof of age, a spouse’s death certificate if widowed, and proof of permanent disability, if applicable.
Obtain the Property Tax and Rent Rebate Program application online or by mail or call 1-888-PATAXES. Questions may be answered by the Online Customer Service Center. If you have already applied and 8 to 10 weeks have lapsed since filing, contact the PA Department of Revenue for a status report on your rebate.